View Full Version : Are there any sports sites to stay away from?
westbrook08
07-11-2012, 04:19 PM
I swear that over the last 2 years i have gotten viruses from going on realgm and hoopsworld.Is this just me or has anyone else had a similar experience? And are there any other sites you guys have had problems with?
SWedd523
07-11-2012, 04:22 PM
I'm a regular member of RGM and have never had virus issues. Use a virus protector like AVG and an adblocker (sorry Zig) like AdBlocker Plus and you should be good to go.
I'd say stay away from Bleacher Report, but that has more to do with (lack of) quality than anything else
captaincrunk
07-11-2012, 04:22 PM
I swear that over the last 2 years i have gotten viruses from going on realgm and hoopsworld.Is this just me or has anyone else had a similar experience? And are there any other sites you guys have had problems with?
fats on realgm said that sometimes signatures and avatars on realgm have given him viruses. That can happen anywhere that lets people hotlink though.
westbrook08
07-11-2012, 04:53 PM
I'm a regular member of RGM and have never had virus issues. Use a virus protector like AVG and an adblocker (sorry Zig) like AdBlocker Plus and you should be good to go.
I'd say stay away from Bleacher Report, but that has more to do with (lack of) quality than anything else
I've used avg before,but it's so restrictive that it actually slows my computer down.Someone told me about a program called avira that's supposed to be good.I might check out.And yes,bleacher report is the national inquirer of sports sites! lol.
ziggy
07-11-2012, 04:54 PM
I stay away from any kind of warez sites or anything similar. I use kaspersky and so far its been good.
From a quality standpoint bleacher report is very, very poor. I can go on there and post that Corey Higgins is a top 5 player and nobody would reject the article at all.
bing!
07-11-2012, 05:03 PM
AVG + SpybotSD with "paranoid mode" turned on. Nothing gets past that combo. In addition, I regularly monitor my processes and registry for any iffy behaviour. People sometimes, inadvertently, host content (like images) on suspicious/malicious sites (which forces certain browsers to go nuts). NoScript (for firefox) may come handy in such cases.
SWedd, adblock plus lets you to disable ad blocking for specific sites.
SWedd523
07-11-2012, 05:07 PM
SWedd, adblock plus lets you to disable ad blocking for specific sites.
I know :)
Still block 'em on here
westbrook08
07-11-2012, 05:13 PM
Thanks man.It seems like i've started having problems on hoopsworld ever since they put the live twitter feed on there.And yeah ziggy your right.You could post an article on bleacher report saying that glen davis is an alternate for the 4 x 100 relay team in the olympics this year and no one would question it! lol.
I don't know of any virus-ridden sites, but I will echo Ziggy in that Bleacher Report is the last place you want to go for quality sports news.
dnbman
07-12-2012, 10:31 AM
I don't know of any virus-ridden sites, but I will echo Ziggy in that Bleacher Report is the last place you want to go for quality sports news.
Best thing to do?
http://www.ubuntu.com/
Problems solved.
captaincrunk
07-12-2012, 12:33 PM
Best thing to do?
http://www.ubuntu.com/
Problems solved.
that is unless you enjoy computing and using computers.
fatlever
07-12-2012, 12:45 PM
fats on realgm said that sometimes signatures and avatars on realgm have given him viruses. That can happen anywhere that lets people hotlink though.
realgm recently changed their policy on avatars and sigs, where all most go through approved hosts. there were problems in the past where viruses came through avatars and sigs from bad sources. i had a virus from there once a few years ago. considering i hit that site every day for 11 years, i guess thats not too bad of a ratio. as a precaution, i disabled sigs and avatars a few years ago and never turned them back on. frankly, i cant stand seeing everyone's sigs. also, adblock should prevent any of this stuff from happening. regardless any site that allows avatars and sigs probably runs a risk of viruses.
adam187
07-12-2012, 12:57 PM
I've used avg before,but it's so restrictive that it actually slows my computer down.Someone told me about a program called avira that's supposed to be good.I might check out.And yes,bleacher report is the national inquirer of sports sites! lol.
i agree with what others are posting here about AVG and AdBlocker Plus, and most of them probably have more experience than me. if AVG is slowing down your computer, it might be in conflict with some other program you have installed, perhaps another anti-virus program? i was under the impression that it was supposed to be a relatively lightweight. i dunno. also consider using firefox or chrome if you aren't already.
or it could be all that porn you are downloading on limewire. that's what my mom always said.
dnbman
07-12-2012, 04:42 PM
that is unless you enjoy computing and using computers.
For those folks, there's always Leap Frog.
I don't have a long history with Linux, but I've used Ubuntu for the last couple of years and loved it.
dnbman
07-12-2012, 04:43 PM
realgm recently changed their policy on avatars and sigs, where all most go through approved hosts. there were problems in the past where viruses came through avatars and sigs from bad sources. i had a virus from there once a few years ago. considering i hit that site every day for 11 years, i guess thats not too bad of a ratio. as a precaution, i disabled sigs and avatars a few years ago and never turned them back on. frankly, i cant stand seeing everyone's sigs. also, adblock should prevent any of this stuff from happening. regardless any site that allows avatars and sigs probably runs a risk of viruses.
FATLEVER! You should join us more.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.6 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.